Artist Bio

Signature Theatre Company

Signature Theatre Company, founded in 1991 by James Houghton, honors and celebrates the playwright through season-long explorations of a single living playwright’s body of work. Signature’s Play­wrights-in-Residence have been Edward Albee, Lee Blessing, Horton Foote, Adrienne Kennedy, Maria Irene Fornes, John Guare, Bill Irwin, Romulus Linney, Arthur Miller, Sam Shepard, Paula Vogel, August Wilson and Lanford Wilson. During its 10th season, Signature began its Legacy Pro­gram to invite back past Playwrights-in-Residence to present new and well-known works. Signature presented Horton Foote’s The Trip to Bountiful in 2005 as a Legacy Play, and as the first production of The Signature Ticket Initiative, which offers subsidized $20 tickets made possible by the lead sponsorship of Time Warner, Inc. with generous support provided by Margot Adams, in memory of Mason Adams. The 17th through 20th seasons will present work by Charles Mee, The Negro En­semble Company, Suzan-Lori Parks and Tony Kushner, as well as plays by Edward Albee and other past Playwrights-in-Residence. Signature, its productions and its playwrights have been recognized with a Pulitzer Prize, 10 Lucille Lortel Awards, 10 Obie Awards, five Drama Desk Awards, two Outer Critics Circle Awards and six Audelco Awards among other distinctions.

(March 2008)