Artist Bio

Ann Reinking

(Bio as of September 2001)

Ann Reinking was the direc­tor/co-conceiver/co-choreographer of Fosse, which won the Tony for best musical in 1999. In 1997 she won the Tony for her choreography of Chicago, as well as a Drama Desk Award, Outer Critics Circle Award, Astaire Award and a NY Drama Critics Award. She received a Tony nomination for her performances in Dancin’ and as best actress in Goodtime Charley, as well as Theatre World, Clarence Derwent, and Outer Critics Circle awards for her work as Maggie in Over Here. Film cred­its: Movie, Movie; All That Jazz; Annie; Micki and Maude. Recent choreography credits include Suite Kander for the Missouri State Ballet, The Visit and Pal Joey at the Goodman Theatre (for which she received a Jefferson Award), Sondheim Suite for Pacific Northwest Ballet, Ritmo y Ruido for Ballet His­panico, Legends for Joffrey Ballet of Chicago, Threepenny Opera for Williamstown Theatre Fes­tival, Nilsson/Schmillson for Seattle’s Spectrum Dance Theatre, Bye Bye Birdie for ABC-TV and the national tour revival of Applause. She direct­ed and choreographed Tonight at 8:30 for Williamstown Theatre Festival. Upcoming: direct and choreograph No Strings for Encore Series at City Center; choreograph Bacharach Project for Roundabout. Ms. Reinking is founder and artistic director of the Broadway Theatre Project. She is the recipient of the Honorary Doctorate for Con­tribution to the Arts (2001); Distinguished Artist Award Los Angeles Music Center (2001); Nation­al Broadway Theatre Award for best choreogra­phy, Fosse (2001); Olivier Award, best theater choreography, Fosse (2000); Helpman Award, best choreography, Chicago, Australia (2000); Dance Magazine Award for choreography (2000); Drama League Award for Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre (1999); Musical Hall of Fame Award (1999); Dance Library of Israel Award (1998); Distinguished Artist Award (1998); School of American Ballet Artistic Achievement Award (1997); National Artists Club Award for Service to the Arts (1995); and the Governor’s Award­—Ambassador of the Arts for the State of Florida, 1994.

View IMDb page       View IBDB page