Lorraine Hansberry Day and Awards

Join us in celebrating the work of Lorraine Hansberry and her contemporaries.

  • Lorraine Hansberry Day in Chicago

    Thursday, May 19
    The Alice Rapoport Center, Goodman Theatre

    On what would have been her 86th birthday, Lorraine Hansberry’s legacy is celebrated with a number of special events at the newly-opened Alice Rapoport Center for Education and Engagement at Goodman Theatre.

  • Overview of the Day's Events

    • 12pm: Join Goodman artists and members of the cast of The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window to celebrate the day with cake, refreshments and a special mayoral proclamation honoring Hansberry and her work. Reserve >>
    • 12:30pm: PlayTalk: The Sign in Sidney Brustein's Window — Goodman staff offer a special pre-performance look at the background and themes of the play. No reservation required.
    • 5pm: PlayBack: The Sign in Sidney Brustein's Window — A special post-show discussion with Goodman artists following the matinee performance. No reservation required
    • 6pm: A special presentation of the 1961 film version of A Raisin in the Sun, starring Sidney Poitier, Ruby Dee, Claudia McNeil and Diana Sands; the film will be introduced by founder and executive director of the Black Ensemble Theater Company Jackie Taylor. Sold Out
    • 10:30pm: PlayBack: The Sign in Sidney Brustein's Window — A special post-show discussion with Goodman artists fgollowing the evening performance. No reservation required

  • The Lorraine Hansberry Awards

    Tuesday, May 24 | 7pm
    Chicago Cultural Center, 78 East Washington Street (Accessible entrance located at 77 East Randolph Street)
    FREE; Reservations Required | Limited Availability

    Presented by Goodman Resident Director Chuck Smith, New Federal Theatre Artistic Director Woodie King, Jr. and members of the Hansberry family, these one-time-only awards honor the unique cultural contributions of five Hansberry contemporaries—African American women who were raised and educated in Chicago, and who went on to make indelible impacts on the American theater. Goodman Theatre is proud to honor these artists, whose work and legacies mirror the pioneering spirit of Lorraine Hansberry.

  • The Lorraine Hansberry Award Honorees

    • Dr. Glory Van Scott, actress, dancer and educator
    • Camille Yarbrough, musician, actress, poet, producer and activist
    • Micki Grant, singer, actress and composer
    • Shauneille Perry, playwright and director
    • Lynn Hamilton, actress

Sponsors Become a Sponsor